Arlington Raceway

Rice Companies Night


Arlington Raceway

Rice Companies Night

The Rice Companies VIP’s added a little twist to the B&B Racing Chassis IMCA Stock Car feature Saturday Night by putting up an extra $2,100 is a driver took the back row challenge and won the race, if they didn’t win; the driver that advanced farthest forward won an extra $500.00. Two drivers took the challenge, the 87L of Curt Lund and the 110 of Ken Teitz. With extra money on the line, the race was very intense. Jeff McCollum was the first lap leader with Matt Speckman in 2nd, the following lap the positions were reversed. By the 9th lap Ryan Bjerkeset was in the mix from his 11th place start. A yellow flag was thrown on the 10th lap when Tim Pessek dipped off the track in the turn #3 causing a chain reaction of cars stopping and colliding. On the restart, Speckman once again led the field but 4 laps later Bjerkeset got around him. Then the 99L of Matt Looft who had started 12th used the last restart to his advantage and moved forward. While he battled with Speckman and moved in on Bjerkeset, coming around for the checkered flag Speckman got too high and fell off the track to lose 11 positions. Bjerkeset took the checkered first ahead of Looft and Josh Larson took 3rd ahead of Dan Mackenthun. Curt Lund won the $500 extra dollars for advancing farthest forward and taking 6th place. Teitz finished 9th.
There were three different leaders in the Ottomotive Tire & Repair IMCA Modified feature. The track was dry slick by this time and several cars spun out trying to get some grip. Jason Schroeder was the first lap leader with Chad Porter directly behind him. The following lap Porter was leading. After two more yellow flags Todd Stinehart was able to move forward from his 9th place start and take over the lead. The last 10 laps Clint Hatlestad battled with him but Stinehart held firm and went on to win the race. Hatlestad took 2nd ahead of Porter.
Roger Krebs was the pole sitter in the Jack Pines Resort IMCA Hobby feature with Scott Porter alongside him. Porter took off like lightening at the drop of the green flag and was able to lead the race for 8 of the 15 laps. Then a series of yellow flags occurred when a car lost an axle and another a flat tire. Four cars were out of the race. On the restart, Cory Probst who had started 10th took over the race and went on to win another feature with dad Dan taking 2nd ahead of Chad Volk in the 32.
A new car in victory lane was exciting in the Coors Light IMCA Sport compact feature. Eric Stocker had a great lead for the first 6 laps but spun in turn #2 and lost his bumper. Then the 51x of Gary Schumacher spun in turn #4. Once the race restarted and kept going Neil Forsberg was the new leader and remained to win his first ever feature. Alan Lahr took 2nd ahead of newcomer Dominic Olson.
The eXmark Outlaw feature was marred with yellow flags also. Luke Rohde had a tough time navigating his car as the first two yellows were called on him ending his race for the night. On the restart, Garett Uecker held on to the top spot but by the 9th time around Daniel Eckblad glided by him. As cars were pulling into the pit for mechanical troubles, these two were battling for the lead. In the end, Eckblad won his 2nd feature in a row, Uecker held on for 2nd ahead of Rod Manthey.
Ben Reierson led half of the Arlington State Bank IMCA Northern Sport Modified feature from his front row start. On lap 6 a yellow was thrown when Mat Hollerich spun in turn #2. After that the race went caution free and Matt Looft was at the point by now taking over the lead from Reierson. Behind them Jeff Lloyd, Broddy Enter and Eric Larson were all racing side by side for the last 3 laps but in the end Looft won with Reierson in 2nd and Lloyd in 3rd.
Bill Johnson led the entire Rice Company IMCA RaceSaver Sprint feature from start to end to win his first feature of the year. Son Matt followed him around for the duration with Brett Allen moving forward to gain positions but wasn’t able to catch the Johnsons as there was distance between the top 3 spots.

Article Media

Back to News

Driver Registration

Hess Technology
Ottomotive Auto Repair
Arlington State Bank
Rice Companies
Coors Light
EZ Wash
Jerrys Foods
Midwest Machinery
Interstate Batteries
LIndsay Thomas
Hutchinson Co-Op
Big Daves Mini Donuts
Gelder Underground
Dairy Queen
Jackpot Juinction
John Deere
Mankato Motorsports
Star Group
North Fork
State Farm
Supreme Wireless
Tonys Outdoor Service
Jack Pines Resort
Justice Brothers
Bode Collision
KR Towing
Deals Steals
Cole Robinson
Unhinged Pizza
Dakota Robinson Construction
Northland Drying